Patrick Paige II announces solo album, shares songs with Syd and Steve Lacy

The Internet’s Patrick Paige II has announced that his new solo record, If I Fail Are We Still Cool, will be out May 21 via Fat Possum Records. The record features 17 tracks and includes collaborations with Paco, Westside McFly, Ohana Bam, Allen Love, Durand Bernarr, Westside McFly, Saba, and Bowie, as well as his Internet bandmates Syd and Steve Lacy. Along with the announcement, Paige has released a video for “Whisper (Want My Luv)”, a new track featuring Steve Lacy, Allen Love, and Durand Bernarr, directed by Ethan Nelson.

While the streaming version of the track runs 3:50, the music video version runs closer to 6 minutes, and includes a second song, “Ain’t Talking Bout Much”, featuring Syd. While the first track is a funky, 70s-style R&B track, the second is gleaming and gelatinous, featuring Paige and Syd rapping over a hypnotic, pinging beat. Watch “Whisper (Want My Luv)” above.

In 2018, Paige released his solo debut, Letters of Irrelevance, which featured collaborations with Syd, Kari Faux, DAISY, ForteBowie, Sareal, and G Perico. The Internet’s last album was 2018’s Hive Mind, which featured the singles “Roll (Burbank Funk)”, “Hold On”, and “Come Over”.