Stream Drake’s new album Certified Lover Boy

Stream Drake’s new album <i>Certified Lover Boy</i>

Drake has finally released Certified Lover Boy, his sixth studio album. The project includes features from JAY-Z, Lil Wayne, Young Thug, Future, 21 Savage, Lil Baby, Lil Durk, Tems, Ty Dolla $ign, and Giveon; the appearances were announced on Wednesday with billboards bearing the artists’ names erected in their respective cities. The album’s cover art, designed by Damien Hirst, was unveiled on August 30.

Drake first announced the new album in May 2020 with an Instagram post published alongside the release of the mixtape Dark Lane Demo Tapes, writing that the album would be out in summer 2020. Its first single, “Laugh Now Cry Later” featuring Lil Durk, came out in August 2020, with the album’s title revealed at the same time. Originally expected in January 2021, Certified Lover Boy was delayed after Drake suffered a leg injury, requiring surgery.

In May, Drake shared the three-song EP Scary Hours II with features from Lil Baby and Rick Ross. He featured on the songs “Solid” by Young Thug and Gunna, “Seeing Green” by Nicki Minaj, “Having Our Way” by Migos, and on Brent Faiyaz’s “Wasting Time.” His verse on Trippie Redd’s “Betrayal” contained some disses aimed at rivals Kanye West and Pusha-T, and led to Kanye sharing Instagram posts which promised to end Drake’s career and revealed his home address in Toronto.